top of page
  • Writer's picturecaitsandiford

SCMTME#7: Recording Ensemble Offspring

Updated: Nov 25, 2018

This week we were given the amazing opportunity to record Ensemble Offspring perform Light for the First Time, by Bree Van Reyk, and interview the composer! While this task was set with the intention of allowing us to put the recording skills we had learnt in SCMTME#3, there were quite a few people and only so many jobs so not everyone got the chance to help out. Check out Isabel's timelapse to get a sense of the setup process.



Nonetheless, it was still a valuable experience to watch professional musicians in action, talk to the performers and composer, and end up with material to make digital resources. I really enjoyed listening to the performers discuss their musical interactions that are based on a fundamental trust and respect for exploring different sounds. This attitude is something I would really like to foster in every musical environment that I participate in (classroom and otherwise). As well as this, Bree's discussion of the aleatoric sections of her piece has given me a clearer understanding on the intentions behind aleatoricism, this idea is something I might explore in my final composition for CME.


EDIT: check out how I used this material in my 'baby steps' Choose Your Own Adventure composition task here.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

SCMTME#13: Final Provocations

While today was intended to be a review of the content and ideas taught throughout the semester, I learnt quite a lot. Even after the quick tutorial demonstrating how to edit multiple angles in any ho

bottom of page