top of page
  • Writer's picturecaitsandiford

Comp#10: Mixing and final score edits

Updated: Nov 19, 2018

After listening to the recording, I added in more markings to make the changes in vibrato more obvious to the performers, since it affects the colour and quality of the sound greatly.


I found the best versions of each section in the piece to join together, but due to the continuity in sound from section to section/bar to bar, sometimes the crossfade in logic wasn’t enough, so I had to manually fade in and out the different recordings (see right).

In future I would like to record this piece in a studio (with a room mic and a mic for each person), instead of just one zoom recorder. Overall, the desired moods/atmospheres were achieved, although I think I would like to lengthen the aleatoric section so that each new pitch set (and the changes in mood that brings) has longer to 'set in'/more time to enjoy each 'colour' (I couldn’t do that here due to the time limit).


Despite this, I'm proud of the result and am excited at how this piece came to life! Moreover, my quartet (aptly named Quart-Ed) has decided to add this piece into the programs that we plan on presenting to schools (this piece serving a number of purposes - showcasing and encouraging the multiple identities of musicians, demonstrating extended string techniques in an accessible way, an example of programmatic music, and potential for scaffolding the creation of soundscapes using handheld percussion instruments).


After mixing, I added in the changes to the score from the recording session including:

- cues (notated through blue downward facing arrows through each part)

- gradually moving to and from the extended techniques (to and from the harmonic, swell in harmonic trill, and moving to and from the bridge gradually).


I exported this file to a pdf so that I could see the layout more clearly. I marked up some of the places where the layout wasn’t perfect or details missing, and went back into Sibelius to fix them up for the final version. I also ran it by a friend and they pointed out some spacing issues.


After all that, here's a link to the final recording, and here's the final score!

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comp#9: Recording

15/10/12 After finally finding a time that everyone was free, I used a zoom recorder in an ensemble room to record my quartet playing the piece (video here). There were still a few discrepancies on th

Comp#7: Workshopping

05/11/18 At rehearsal today I workshopped the piece with my quartet, it was so cool hearing it come to life! I recorded the whole session using voice memos so that I could listen back to the feedback

bottom of page