top of page
  • Writer's picturecaitsandiford

Comp#8: Fixing it up

Updated: Nov 19, 2018

10/11/12

After going through the feedback from the rehearsal I went through and fixed the score, ready for recording (here's the pdf). I fixed up dynamics and layout issues (like the squiggly lines at the end) and redesigned the aleatoric section.


To do this, I sat at the piano and came up with different pitch sets that I liked the sound of and recorded them. I went through and decided the order that I wanted each pitch set to change in order to create different combinations and smooth transitions, and came up with this:


However, the Violin I part is quite a bit higher than my original recording (the register will alter the sound quality and blend), so I made a second version to try:

I'm curious to see how the different versions will turn out and excited to hear the composition come to life!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comp#9: Recording

15/10/12 After finally finding a time that everyone was free, I used a zoom recorder in an ensemble room to record my quartet playing the piece (video here). There were still a few discrepancies on th

Comp#7: Workshopping

05/11/18 At rehearsal today I workshopped the piece with my quartet, it was so cool hearing it come to life! I recorded the whole session using voice memos so that I could listen back to the feedback

bottom of page