top of page
  • Writer's picturecaitsandiford

Comp#7: Workshopping

05/11/18

At rehearsal today I workshopped the piece with my quartet, it was so cool hearing it come to life! I recorded the whole session using voice memos so that I could listen back to the feedback and the way each section turned out. Here's that recording.


Here's the score after rehearsal (with pencil markings and digital markings I made after I scanned it). Sarah and Karen showed me how to put in the tremolos and boxes on Sibelius properly which was a huge help.


My thoughts after the workshop and listening to the recording of the workshop:

- More explicit performance direction with vibrato (con vib, senza vib). It affects the sound quality a lot.

- Don't change to stopped notes in the lead up to letter B (change everyone at the same time for better effect - write the swell/dynamics in all parts).

- Clearer dynamics needed in B and C

- Rapid string crossing is effective in inner voices at letter C.

- Bowings vs phrase markings?

- Write aleatoric section so that after a certain number of seconds a pitch is added, more like a timeline.

- Fewer instructions for aleotoric section, writing number of seconds so it is easy to see (e.g. 10" on top of each part)

- Fix cello harmonic in first section

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comp#9: Recording

15/10/12 After finally finding a time that everyone was free, I used a zoom recorder in an ensemble room to record my quartet playing the piece (video here). There were still a few discrepancies on th

bottom of page