top of page
  • Writer's picturecaitsandiford

Comp#3: Playing around on logic cont.

01/11/18

I continued my last session playing around in logic, after recording some other ways to possibly to do the opening, I decided to stick with my original plan, but played around with adding the harmonic trill swell in the opening - I think I might save it for the end, as a development of this original swell idea, but we'll see.

Logic Draft 3:


To present my draft to the class tomorrow, I re-recorded each part into the rough structure, and realised that I would have to put in a more strictly written section to help build the music even more, before retreating to the ending with the harmonic swells, trills and glisses. My current plan is to use the F played in the viola part as a cue to move onto this section, where it will gradually build in intensity through diminution.

Logic Draft 4:


Here's my first attempt, but I'm not sure where to go, so I'll listen to more pieces and have another go after getting some feedback from the class.







I've also started transferring the logic file to traditional notation, which has been a bit tedious, since I needed to listen to each part, remember/figure out where I played each harmonic and notate it for each instrument. Luckily, the rhythms I played were straightforward, and it's no trouble adding in crescendos and diminuendos for swells.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comp#9: Recording

15/10/12 After finally finding a time that everyone was free, I used a zoom recorder in an ensemble room to record my quartet playing the piece (video here). There were still a few discrepancies on th

bottom of page