top of page
  • Writer's picturecaitsandiford

Comp#5: Models

03/11/18

While I've been using Bree's piece as a model (due to the baby steps), I decided to look to other pieces for help with this final section of the piece.


After Humbo's suggestion, I looked at Arvo Part. The two pieces that stand out and achieve similar effects to those I want are Spiegel im Spiegel and Fratres.

Spiegel im Spiegel achieves the atmosphere I want in the sections I have already composed, and Nicola Benedetti's description in this video will be useful when I look at developing and notating the aleatoric section. Also, listening to her performance reminded me of the value in taking a slower tempo, making sure not to rush the introduction and ending sections.


Arvo Parts, Fratres, is quite different to Spiegel im Spiegel in the movement, sound quality, colours, and dynamic range, while using the same instruments. His employment of the rapid string crossings at the beginning achieves a sense of direction and movement - something I'll try out when composing this final section. I'll also keep the effect of pizz and double stops in mind.



My quartet has been learning Ravel's String Quartet in F major this semester, and one thing I've enjoyed is the different colours he achieves through the different string effects.

The rapid string crossing in Fratres reminded me of the B section in the second movement (0:30):

This texture - moving parts in the inner voices, a melody in the top voice and a bass line in something I'm going to try for this section. However, I want a more full sound so I'll give a melodic line to the cello too (probably based off the cello melody from my first draft).

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comp#9: Recording

15/10/12 After finally finding a time that everyone was free, I used a zoom recorder in an ensemble room to record my quartet playing the piece (video here). There were still a few discrepancies on th

bottom of page