top of page
  • Writer's picturecaitsandiford

Comp#6: Getting ready to workshop

04/11/18

Tomorrow I workshop the piece with my quartet at rehearsal, so today I needed to finish transfering the piece from the logic file to traditional notation and finish composing the C section (the climax).


For the aleatoric section, I have made two pitch sets for each instrument, starting off with two pitches then moving to more. I'm not sure how this will turn out when being performed since each instrument changes to the next pitch set at the same time, so I suspect there won't be the gradual build like that in my original recording.


For the C section, I played around with the textures and techniques from the pieces I looked at yesterday and came up with this:



(Excuse the uneven screenshot size). After playing around with different ideas, this seems like it will fit the best - the rapid string crossing in the inner voices provides the movement while the sustained melodic ideas in the outer voices connects it to the rest of the piece. But we'll see how it sounds tomorrow!

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comp#9: Recording

15/10/12 After finally finding a time that everyone was free, I used a zoom recorder in an ensemble room to record my quartet playing the piece (video here). There were still a few discrepancies on th

bottom of page